Her

My girlfriend (jokingly) always asks why I never write about her on Facebook or anywhere….and now that I’ve started this blog and have been posting pretty regularly; she again asked why I don’t write about her. So here it is. Her post. And she doesn’t actually want this.

I knew of Nicole Elizabeth Sutherland in high school. I was on the stage crew, she was in the band. I was friends with a lot of the drama kids and band kids. So we knew each other. Sort of. I graduated 2004, she graduated 2005. Fast forward to December 2006. We officially met at a mutual friend’s Christmas Eve Eve party. We got to talking and immediately hit it off. I had been single about a year after a 5 year relationship and wasn’t looking for anything serious just yet, but I asked her out anyway. Had our first date on the 28th of that month and after 3 dates had decided we were meant to be together. Now after nearly 6 years and 4 months of the best relationship I’ve ever been in, (along with it’s own ups and downs) I can say that we are meant to be together. Just how I felt when we first met. She’s my favorite. We balance each other out, when I’m crazy, she reels me in. When she’s too uptight or stressed I help her chill the f*$& out. She’s a history teacher and has been an integral part of me finding my love for teaching.

We’ve had issues of our own, like any couple, but I have never been so happy or comfortable with someone. And the good so far out-weights any of the bad that no issue has ever kept us down. 

I wish I could do our relationship justice in this post, but I never could. She’s my best friend, she’s my whole world. We spend as much time together as possible. We’ve traveled to tropical islands, gone on road trips and have done mini-vacations and they were all perfect trips that I wouldn’t have wanted to share with anyone else. We had our first try at living together at college and I loved every minute of it. That was one of the first times I knew that it was meant to be.

People that don’t know me may see this as a sappy excuse for writing about my girlfriend; people that do know me will see this as a sort of joke by posting about my girlfriend when she doesn’t actually want me to. But in all seriousness, I love her more than anything and I’ve never been shy to express it. I have no problem posting about her on here for the whole of the internet to stumble upon.

She’s my everything and I love spending every day with her.

Leave a Reply

