Texas Chainsaw 3D

With the bluray/dvd being released this week I figured I’d post my review I posted on Facebook after going to the midnight premiere.

So I saw Texas Chainsaw 3D last night and I gotta say I was pretty impressed. It picks up literally at the end of the original 1974 film (they even rebuilt sets and used matching vehicles to make sure everything matched up exactly) and it goes along for a few scenes during that time and then jumps ahead a few decades to round out the story and bring it into modern day.

They really made some interesting choices with the plot, it had some good twists and turns that really made it unpredictable and went in a direction I know no one will see coming. It’s a fun horror ride, especially for big fans of the genre, casual viewers may not care for it’s subtleties, but will, I’m sure, enjoy the scenes of gore and sex. I really have to say for being a recent sequel of a classic film it actually had some decent writing. There were a few “eye-roll” moments and unfortunately 99% of the characters were unlikable. The writers even went out of their way to make 3 of the characters extra unlikable after they’ve already been established in the story. To me, a big part of what makes horror movies scary is the fact that you don’t want to see everyone slaughtered, you want some of the good guys to make it and it’s gut-wrenching to see them get killed, but for the most part in this film you really did not care who got it and I’m sure I wasn’t the only one wanting them to get it gruesomely.

All in all I’d give it a solid B to B+ and it’s great to see the original series getting a breath of fresh air so we can all forget about the remake series. I’m excited to see this franchise move forward.

In the months since it’s release I feel this movie has gotten a bad rap from a lot of people. I still feel the same way about it as I did before: It’s a fun horror movie. Sure it’s flawed, but aren’t most? And there are a few things I would have done differently, but that’s ok too. Still a good popcorn flick. The other day I saw a guy online say that he didn’t want to watch this and if he were to watch people get chopped up he’d watch the Saw franchise because at least that had a plot. Sure it has a plot, it’s not terribly good, but it has one. As for Texas Chainsaw, it has a fairly interesting plot. And all the ways it ties into the original makes it even better. So that guy should actually watch a movie before passing judgement. Anyway, if you missed it in theaters I highly recommend giving it a chance at home. Definitely worth at least a rental. I apologize in advance if you don’t enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

