Gravity

I’m going to keep this brief.

Good Lord. What a movie. You’ve seen the trailers, you’ve heard the hype. I’ll lay it all out for ya. Gravity tells the story of the worst (fictional) space disaster in history. During a routine maintenance mission to the Hubble telescope, the Russians decide to destroy one of their old spy sattelites by launching a rocket into it. Genius! This causes an insane amount of debris that heads right for U.S. space shuttle crew at the Hubble…even though it wasn’t originally supposed to go near them at all. This leaves two survivors (played by Sandra Bullock and George Clooney) trying to make their way to the International Space Station and save themselves from running out of oxygen or just floating off into space forever.

This was one of the most beautifully shot and flawlessly directed movies I’ve seen, ever. Alfonso Cuarón has created a visual masterpiece. The direction, cinematography and special effects are really what this whole movie is about. The plot and acting are definitely good, though not the end all/be all for the world of cinema. This a gut-wrenching, nerve-wracking, emotional roller coaster and I left the theater emotionally drained and feeling like (probably from the IMAX/3D experience) I, myself had been shot into space and bounced off space shuttles, life pods and space stations. This was without a doubt the most realistic film about space ever made. I really don’t want to spoil anything so I’ll just leave it here. Excellent movie. It was an experience to say the least and I highly recommend seeing it in theaters, especially IMAX if you can swing it. Some people have apparently been let down by it, from all the hype, but I wasn’t disappointed at all. It was pretty much exactly what I expected. Loved it. I feel like I had a cinematic religious experience from the visuals alone.

A

Leave a Reply

